This history book is finished, but the history of the UI College of Forestry, Wildlife and Range Sciences continues to be created. A case in point: As this history was being completed in June 1985, UI President Richard Gibb announced that Dr. John C. Hendee had been selected to become the sixth dean of the college*, replacing Dr. John H. Ehrenreich, dean since 1971.

A 24-year Forest Service man, Hendee began his career in 1961 as a forestry aide on the Siuslaw National Forest, Oregon, and was most recently assistant director of the Southeastern Forest Experiment Station, Asheville, North Carolina. He holds a B.S. in Forestry from Michigan State University, an M.S. in Forest Management from Oregon State University, and a Ph.D. in Forestry Economics and Sociology from the University of Washington.

Hendee comes to his new job in challenging times: a depressed forest industry, reduced state funding, reduced levels of employment in some renewable natural resources professions. But he brings with him an obvious confidence that enthusiasm, imagination, and expertise go a long way toward meeting and overcoming such challenges.

Certainly, all alumni and friends of the college wish John Hendee well as he takes his first steps into his tenure as dean and into the next chapter of the history of the UI College of Forestry, Wildlife and Range Sciences.



John C. Hendee

A LOOK TO THE FUTURE

The only thing certain about the future is change—and a faster rate of change than faced in our first 75 years. Strengths to deal with the future come from our college tradition and a focus on continued excellence. In three years the University of Idaho will celebrate its centennial with a theme "tradition meeting the future." Our college tradition will be a "quest for excellence" focusing on what we can do best, what is needed, what is possible. We hope you will join us in this quest. We need your continued help and support.

John C. Hendee, Dean February 1986

^{*}C.H. Shattuck was department head, not dean; he was succeeded by Deans Miller, McArdle, Jeffers, Wohletz, and Ehrenreich.