Idaho Chapter of the Wildlife Society Minutes of the 2008 Business Meeting March 5, 2008 The Linen Building, Boise

The 2008 business meeting of the Idaho Chapter of The Wildlife Society was called to order at 1655 by President Rita Dixon. Twenty-four members and 4 officers attended.

Minutes of the 2007 business meeting were approved as read by the Secretary.

The Treasurer's report was read and approved. Final account balances as of December 2007 were \$14,673.34 in our checking account and \$6,325.00 in the Fidelity investment account. The Landuse Summit balance, which we are holding in our account but which is slated for future Landuse-related activities, sat at \$23,999.09.

Scholarship Update

Kerry Reese reported on the 2007 University of Idaho scholarships and sent the names of the 2008 recipients after the meeting:

Kvale (Ka-whal-e) award of \$740 to Niko Balkenhol in 2007; \$730 to Harry Jageman in 2008 Norberg/Miner award of \$1,000 to Cassidy Bair in 2007; \$970 to Harry Jageman in 2008 Michael Gratson award of \$2,000 to Landon Moore and \$1,000 to Sean Howard in 2007; 3 recipients in 2008: \$1,500 each to Kara Ravenscroft and Katie Pond, \$500 to Lori Eichel.

Old Business

The Chapter received no funding requests in 2007. The draft criteria for requests developed during the 2007 business meeting were read again and discussed. Two new criteria were added and time frames for a call for proposals and a submission deadline were established. The final criteria are as follows:

- 1. We will set a monetary limit "up to" a certain amount, to be based on historical average and to exclude the contribution to the national endowment to which we currently are committed.
- 2. The call for proposals will go out to the membership by 1 April of each year, following the annual meeting. Deadline for submitting requests is 31 December each year.
- 3. Members will vote at the annual business meeting in March on projects that have been submitted. The funding will apply to that current year. The Executive Board retains the ability to make executive decisions on requests that must be decided on before the business meeting.
- 4. Criteria for evaluating proposals include:
 - a. they occur in Idaho
 - b. they are wildlife related
 - c. they are consistent with the mission of TWS
 - d. they are not for profit
 - e. the benefits extend to multiple people and the public and serve to elevate our image
 - f. individual research projects are not eligible

- 5. Projects that are funded need to submit a short write-up of how the funds were used for posting on the Chapter web site.
- 6. If appropriate, an oral presentation or poster should be presented at a following ICTWS annual meeting for funded projects.

These criteria should be sent out to the membership and posted on the Chapter web site.

New Business

We were contacted by Sterling Miller, National Wildlife federation, to submit letters to Senators Crapo and Craig urging them to support the Climate Security Act (the Warner Liebermann bill). Motion passed for the in-coming officers to compose and submit these letters.

The group concurred that non-members are eligible to receive Chapter awards. It was moved and approved that non-members who receive an award also receive a 1-year honorary membership.

Given the higher cost of sustainable meetings, the pulse of the membership was taken to ensure they were still aligned with the philosophy of sustainability, given that it could mean higher registration fees. The response was a resounding 'absolutely'. The cost of the 2008 meeting was about $1\frac{1}{2}$ times the 2007 meeting, but other factors besides sustainability affected that. The question was asked if increased registration was a limiting factor for anyone, and if not, we should continue promoting sustainability. It was suggested that we could poll the full membership, but no motion was made to do so. It was pointed out that our Chapter's meeting registration was lower than others. An adjustment to registration costs was made for retired seniors, whereby seniors will be charged 75% of the regular member registration. Student registration remains at 50% of regular cost.

Jeff Knetter suggested that the Chapter consider a low cost summer get-together where members could interact in fun activities. Rita passed the baton to the new officers to follow up on the idea.

The 2009 meeting will be in northern Idaho.

2008-2009 Officers

David Strickland, Brigham Young University-Idaho, was elected the new President Jon Dudley, USFS Rocky Mountain Research Station, Treasurer Sylvia Copeland, ERO Resources, Secretary No nominations were received for Vice-President, and the few write-in candidates declined. Thankfully Sam Matisse stepped up and agreed to fill the VP slot.

The business meeting was adjourned at 1740.

Addendum

2008 Paper awards announced at the banquet were:

Janet Rachlow, University of Idaho – best professional oral presentation for 'Dynamics of pygmy rabbit burrows: variation across space and time.'

Kevin Monteith, Idaho State University – best student presentation for 'Sexual segregation in white-tailed deer: intersexual divergence in digestive function, morphology, and behavior.' There were no posters.

The Professional Wildlifer Award was awarded posthumously to Chuck Harris and accepted by his wife, Kathie McClannahan. The award was re-named the Charles E. Harris Professional Wildlifer Award.

Minutes submitted by Diane Evans Mack, out-going Secretary